Complimentary Shipping & 7 day 'Change of Heart' Returns Policy

هوم سويت هوم - كوفيد 19 ومدينة الأحجار الكريمة

راتنابورا ، التي تعني "مدينة الأحجار الكريمة" باللغة السنسكريتية ، كانت لقرون بؤرة مركز الرومانسية وإغراء الأحجار الكريمة. الملك سليمان يمطر ملكة سبأ ، حكايات سندباد بحار في ألف ليلة وليلة غرق فيها الأنهار بالجواهر. في وقت ماركو بولو ، يشار إلى جنة الجزيرة باسم راتنا دويبا ، "جزيرة الأحجار الكريمة". فقدت المدينة بعضًا من الرومانسية الرومانسية بفضل COVID-19 ، ويهرب سكانها الآن للانضمام إلى المجتمعات النائية الفقيرة. إن تجارة المجوهرات الفاخرة ، التي كانت شريان الحياة لاقتصاد راتنابورا حتى الآن ، قد توقفت في هذا الوقت من عدم اليقين. في حين أن جميع الأعمال المرتبطة بتجارة المجوهرات الفاخرة معلقة ، فإن الحقيقة المحزنة هي أن معظم الناس الذين اعتمدوا على استمراريتها غير قادرين على وضع الطعام على الطاولة. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين تأثروا بالأسوأ ، لم يعد الوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية والمتطلبات الأساسية لاستمرار الحياة متاحًا لهم.

كانت شركة Beehive Industries أكبر Lapidary في جنوب شرق آسيا قبل الأزمة المالية العالمية (GFC) لعام 2007. وتضم حوالي 800 موظف ومعروفة بتصدير الأحجار الكريمة من راتنابورا في جميع أنحاء العالم إلى سلاسل المجوهرات الفاخرة والعملاء البارزين بما في ذلك الملوك والشركة كل ما انهار.

بعد GFC ، تُركت الشركة لإعادة البناء مع 80 موظفًا فقط وبعض أفضل الحرفيين المنتشرين في جميع أنحاء الريف في ورش صغيرة تسعى إلى الحصول على لقمة العيش من ما تبقى من سوق المجوهرات العالمية المدمرة. شرعت Vindya Perera ، مديرة Brilliant Cuts وابنة مدير Beehive Industries ، في إعادة بناء الأعمال العائلية ، في صناعة يهيمن عليها الذكور وتدرك إلى الأبد اعتماد شعبها على الاقتصاد العالمي. تلقت تعليمها في سيدني ، أستراليا ، قاومت إغراء العديد من المهنيين الذين استنزفوا مجموعة المواهب في سريلانكا وتوجهوا إلى الشواطئ الأجنبية. لم تستثمر فقط سفينتها الريادية في إعادة بناء الأعمال العائلية ولكن أيضًا قلبها في إعادة بناء مجتمعها.

يمكن لـ Vindya تعليم العديد من رجال الأعمال الغربيين شيئًا أو اثنين حول المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات. العبارة الشائعة للأعمال الحديثة ، والكثير منهم غير متأكدين من تأثير مثل هذه الشفافية في شراكات التوريد على صورة العلامة التجارية العالمية. هناك القليل من الشفافية في دوائر المجوهرات الفاخرة في تحديد مساحة المجوهرات الفاخرة العالمية للاعتراف بأن أفضل الأحجار الكريمة يتم قطعها في الغالب من الأحجار الخام في سريلانكا وتايلاند والهند والصين. توفير القليل من الاعتراف للأشخاص الذين يختبئون بعيدًا وراء القوى القوية للتحيزات التسويقية الغربية والمحمية من قبل مجموعات التجارة الصناعية لوضع علامة على مربعات المستهلك الذي يستفسر من الضمير الاجتماعي. ومع ذلك ، يمكن لـ Vindya أن تنقل قصة كل فرد يرسم الجفن في Beehive ويمنحهم كرامة العمل الجاد لمشاركة فوائد عملهم مع أسرهم والمجتمع الأوسع.

توفير الرعاية الصحية وحقول الأرز وبناء المدارس وتزويد المدرسين بالأيتام ؛ مجرد عدد قليل من الأعمال التي قامت بها Vindya وفريقها. بالإضافة إلى الفحوصات الصحية المنتظمة لموظفيها ، في عصر نعترف فيه بالترابط العالمي ، فإنها تزرع الأرز الذي يتم حصاده لإطعام العائلات لشهر أبريل ، وعادة ما تكون أغلى فترة في العام لمجتمعها وهم يتدافعون إلى دفع فواتيرهم للتعليم المستحقة خلال هذا الوقت. والأهم من ذلك أن هذه الخدمة توفر الأمل للجيل القادم في التطلع إلى شيء يتجاوز حدود الفقر وركوب الدراجات في الشوارع للحصول على أموال سريعة من العديد من الأسواق والمتاجر على جانب الطريق. تطوير وتشغيل كلية هيلبورن ويوم الجمعة بعد الظهر يقدم المعلمون من المدرسة دروسًا في دار الأيتام المحلية. توفير محطة الحافلات ، الحافلات المكوكية إلى المدينة ، تبرعات أجهزة الكمبيوتر والقائمة تطول.

يطرح السؤال ، من الذي يساعد Vindya و Briliant Cuts والمستفيدين من انهيار تجارة المجوهرات العالمية في مواجهة COVID-19؟ مثل GFC لعام 2007 ، ينتظر الفريق على أمل عودة ثقة المستهلك. تظل الأحجار الكريمة والماس والقيم الذهبية غير متأثرة إن لم تكن أكثر ثمارًا مثل قطع الاستثمار في ما قد يبدو سوق الذهب المتصاعد باستمرار.

معظم وقتنا في إعداد الأحجار السيادية للإطلاق تم تحديد شركاء ذوي سمعة عالية ومؤهلون وجديرون بالثقة. يسعدنا أن Vindya Perera هي جزء من عائلة Sovereign Stones وأننا نتطلع إلى العمل مباشرة لدعم عملها في مشروعها الجديد Luster ، دعم المجتمع في 'The City of Gems' ، راتنابورا الذي فتح أبوابه وطرح ترحيبهم مات في فريقنا في سوفرين ستونز.

Complimentary Shipping & 7 day 'Change of Heart' Returns Policy

Home Sweet Home - COVID-19 & The City of Gems

Ratnapura, meaning ‘The City of Gems’ in Sanskrit, has for centuries been the epicentre of romanticism and the lure of precious gems. King Solomon showering The Queen of Sheba, the tales of Sinbad the Sailor in Thousand and One Nights shipwrecked where the rivers flowed with gems. By Marco Polo’s time the island paradise was referred to as Ratna Dweepa, ‘ The Island of Gems’. The city has lost some of its heritage romance thanks to COVID-19, and its inhabitants are now fleeing to join the impoverished outlying communities. The luxury jewellery trade, which has been the lifeblood of Ratnapura’s economy up until now, has all but ceased in this time of uncertainty. While all work associated with the luxury jewelry trade is on hold, the sad reality is that most people who relied on its continuity are unable to put food on the table. For those impacted the worst, access to healthcare and basic requirements for the sustainment of life are no longer available to them.

Beehive Industries was the largest Lapidary in South East Asia prior to the global financial crisis (GFC) of 2007. Featuring some 800 employees and known for exporting precious gems from Ratnapura across the globe to luxury jewellery chains and high profile clients including royalty, the company all but collapsed.

Post GFC the company was left to rebuild with only 80 employees and some of the finest craftsman scattered across the countryside in small workshops seeking to muster a living from what remained of the decimated global jewellery marketplace. Vindya Perera, the Director of Brilliant Cuts and daughter of the Director Beehive Industries, has set about rebuilding the family business, in a male dominated industry and forever mindful of the dependency of her people on the global economy. Educated in Sydney, Australia, she has resisted the temptation of so many professionals that drain the talent pool of Sri Lanka and head for foreign shores. She has invested not only her entrepreneurial ship into rebuilding the family business but also her heart into rebuilding her community.

Vindya could teach many a western entrepreneur a thing or two about corporate social responsibility; the catch phrase for modern business, many who are unsure about the impact of such transparency of supply partnerships on global brand image. There is little transparency in luxury jewellery circles in identifying the global luxury jewellery space of acknowledging the largest finest gems are predominately being cut from rough stones in Sri Lanka, Thailand, India and China. Providing little recognition for the mastercrafts people who are hidden away behind the powerhouses of western marketing prejudices and protected by industry trade groups to tick the boxes of the ever enquiring and social consciences consumer. However, Vindya can relay the story of every individual who ordains the lapidary at Beehive and affords them the dignity of working hard to share the benefits of their labour with their families and broader community.

Providing health care, rice paddies, building schools and providing teachers to orphanages; just a few of the works undertaken by Vindya and her team. In addition to regular health checks for her employees, in an era where we acknowledge global connectedness, she grows rice that is harvested to feed the families for the month of April, typically the most expensive period of the year for her community and they scramble to pay their bills for education that fall due during this time. Importantly this service provides hope for the next generation to aspire for something beyond the confines of poverty and pedalling the streets for quick cash from the numerous roadside markets and stores. The development and operation of Hilburn College and on Friday afternoons teachers from the school provide tutoring at the local orphanage. Bus stop provision, shuttle buses to town, donations of computers and the list goes on.

The question beckons, who helps Vindya, Briliant Cuts and the beneficiaries of the global jewellery trade collapse in the face of COVID-19? Like the GFC of 2007, the team wait in hope of a return in consumer confidence. The precious stones, diamonds and gold values remain unaffected if not more precious as investment pieces in what would seem the ever rising gold market.

Much of our time in preparing Sovereign Stones for launch has been identifying reputable, highly qualified and trustworthy partners. We are delighted that Vindya Perera is part of the Sovereign Stones family and that we look forward to working directly to support her work at her new venture Lustre, the community support in ‘The City of Gems’, Ratnapura who opened their doors and rolled out their Welcome Matt’s to our team at Sovereign Stones.